CHIPMAN – NATIVITY of the BVM Parish – Парафія Різдва Пресв. Богородиці

In 1890 2 families of V. Eleniak and I. Pylypiv settled in that region. Many others joined them from Kalush, Yaroslav, Sniatyn and Brody regions in Ukraine.

The first church was built in 1900 3.5 km. from Chipman (Sect. 28 – 54 – 18). Due to conflicts among parishioners, the church building was taken away from the Ukrainian Catholics and given to the Orthodox. The value of the church was approx. $3,000.00 and $1,200.00 were given to the Ukrainian Catholics. This money was given to the treasurer Michael Romaniuk, who kept it until the new church was built. The second church was completed in 1916 in the town of Chipman on 6 acres of land. The church (80’ x 30’) was blessed by Bishop Nykyta Budka in 1918. The contractor was Yanyshevsky and parishioners paid $6,000.00 for the building. Peter Lypynsky painted the church white in 1928. Our Ukrainian traditional iconostasis was installed in 1922 by Pylyp Pawliuk and it was renovated in 1967 by E. Letawsky.

In 1954 a monument was dedicated to the two first settlers from Ukraine V. Eleniak and I. Pylypiw and blessed by Bishop Neil Savaryn.

The cemetery has 2.5 acres of land, was blessed by Bishop Nykyta Budka in 1924 thanks to N. Andriyiv. Close to the church there is a National Hall (Narodnyi dim) (90’ x 32’) originally worth $25,000.00.

In 1962 a 49 member choir was formed with choir director Yakiv Matviy. It performed on many occasions. The choir performed also on radio and TV.

Bishops Nykyta Budka (1918, 1921, 1925), Bas іl Ladyka (Sept.21, 1929, Sept. 7, 1941), Neil Savaryn (Dec. 10, 1967, etc.), Myron D аciuk and Lawrence Huculak paid frequent visits to the church community.

The Parish during the years donated for religious and community purposes and a gift of $1,000.00 for the hospital in Mundare. In the flourishing years, not only the choir but also BUCC, UCWLC and UCYC, a theatre group “Zorya” and Taras Shevchenko Society were part of church life. The parish is no longer served on a regular basis.

The following Basilian Fathers were serving the Parish: Fr. Naucratius Kryzanowsky, Fr. Sozont Dydyk, Fr. Basil Ladyka, Fr. Sophron Diakowich, Fr. George Zydan, Fr. Paul Olinsky, Fr. Neil Savaryn, Fr. Ignatius Lesiuk, Fr. Juvenalis Slota (1949- ), Fr. Gregory Chmilar and Fr. Epiphany Pashchak (1952), Fr. Orest Kupranec (1953), Fr. Eugene Kushko and Fr. Borys Lysak (1954-1956), Fr. Benedict Hrynyshyn (1957- ), Fr. Ignatius Holowaychuk (1970-1971, 1977, 2001- ), Fr. Harry Boretsky (1976), Fr. Josaphat Konchak (1986-1987, 1989-2000), Fr. Matthew Drury (2000-2006), Fr. Gabriel Haber (2006-2012 ), Fr. Daniel Wach (2012 -).